Meet the brown bear …

Did you know?

  • The scientific name of the brown bear is Ursus arctos
  • Brown bears belong to a group of mammals called the Carnivora, or flesh-eaters.
  • The brown bear is the second largest carnivore, after the polar bear.
  • Young brown bears are called cubs.
  • Brown bears are the most widespread species of bear.
  • Brown bears are widely distributed, living across parts of North America, Europe, and Asia.
  • Brown bears live in many different types of habitats, including temperate forests, coastal areas, meadows, grasslands, tundra, and semi-deserts.
  • Although they belong to Carnivora, brown bears have an omnivorous diet – meaning they eat more than  just meat. Their diet can include plant matter, berries, fungi, fish, reptiles, birds, eggs, and mammals.
  • In some areas, brown bears hibernate – go into a dormant, inactive state – in winter.
  • Brown bears live up to 30 years in the wild.

Did you hear?

  • What happens to the weight of a brown bear when it hibernates?
  • How can you tell brown bears and American black bears apart?
  • How many cubs do brown bear females usually have in a litter?
  • What predators are known to sometimes kill brown bear cubs?

See more on Mongabay:

En Español:

Romi thanks:

The Zoological Society of London for sharing the camera trap videos. The footage was captured as part of a project run by Bioterra & NatureSpy.